In The Lord’s Hands

Have you ever had the feeling like you just got hit by a ton of bricks? I have. And let me tell you, a figurative feeling is much better than a literal feeling.

It was a four hour drive. I had made it to the city my friend lived in and I was so excited to see her and spend the 3 day weekend with her. As I was turning onto her street, the weekend took a dramatic turn. I had gotten into a car accident, and it was bad. Both cars were wrecked  (probably totaled), my phone died, the car horn was constantly going off, and I was in pain.

It is scary to be in situations like that regardless of the circumstances, but this sort of thing had never happened to me before so I was extra shaken up. It was particularly difficult for me because I felt like I was all alone. I was in a new place, by myself, and I couldn’t really talk to my parents. I didn’t know what to do or how things worked. All I wanted at that time was to be with my family, in the comfort of my home. Sadly, that was the last thing that was going to happen.

During the accident, I hit my head on the window; I got bruises and whiplash, which is very uncomfortable, but considering the impact and damage done, I truly am blessed to not have any serious injuries. Some people may say that it is luck or coincidence that nothing serious happened to me. But I know what really happened, it was more than luck. It was stronger than coincidence, I was protected by the Lord. I felt his love for me as I thought about the accident and everything that had just happened. He kept me safe. I truly believe that there were angels surrounding me, helping me to stay calm and protected during such a chaotic and stressful time.

In life, we will all have times when we get into literal or figurative “car crashes”. During these troublesome times, we may feel completely alone, hurt, confused, and heartbroken. There may be damage done that will take a long time to heal and move past. Sometimes, there will be a permanent scar leaving a reminder of our errors and trials. Although we may feel discouraged, never forget that we are children of God. He loves us more than we can imagine. While we may feel lonely and confused, remember that you are never alone. Heavenly Father is alway there for you and with you, and in your times of distress, He will carry you when you cannot walk on your own. He knows every pain and struggle we face, he loves us more than words can begin to explain. I think of the scripture Joshua 1:9 “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” He will give us comfort and peace when we are at our breaking point. He will not abandon us. he is always there. We just need to let Him into our hearts. Love this picture or Christ perfectly depicts his understanding and love for each of us:

 

One thought on “In The Lord’s Hands

Leave a comment